Fall Flavored Cake Still Works in the Spring

Certain flavors and foods are associated with specific seasons-strawberries in the summertime, gingerbread in winter, pumpkin in the fall. I’ve always thought of anything spiced, pumpkin, or really anything else with an orange hue as an autumn treat, but I recently came across a few delightful recipes that I had hidden away that incorporated some of those flavors. I bought a box of spice cake mix a few months ago when I was feeling inspired to make a caramel apple spice cake, but lo and behold, life happened and I never made the cake. As I flipped through an older recipe book that I had to brush some dust off of (really, who uses cook books anymore when there are so many fantastic choices online?!), I fluttered several pages of cakes using spiced cake mix. I found one that used mashed sweet potatoes and Cool Whip that sounded beyond easy but extremely tasty and comforting. I tend to think of spice cake and sweet potatoes as something for the cool, gray days of fall, but the weather here has been a bit dreary lately. Plus I’m moving in a few weeks, and I’d sure like to avoid bringing anything extra that could be used first.

Turns out, this cake is a hit. I brought the extra pieces into work, and they were gone before lunch. I followed the recipe below exactly as described, but I managed to find some seasonal cinnamon Cool Whip at the local grocery store, which only leads me to believe that I wasn’t the only one thinking about autumn yummies.

Sweet Potato-Ginger Cake

Stuff You’ll Need

  • 1 pkg spice cake mix (18.25 oz)
  • 1 1/3 cups water
  • 1 15 oz can of yams packed in syrup, drained and mashed
  • 6 large egg whites or 3/4 cup egg whites
  • 2 Tbsp canola oil
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 8 oz frozen whipped topping, thawed
  • 13″ x 9″ cake pan, parchment paper

How to Do It

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F, and line a 13″ x 9″ cake pan with parchment paper and non-stick cooking spray.
  2. Combine cake mix, water, mashed yams, egg whites, oil, and ground ginger in a large bowl. Mix until combined, and pour into your prepared pan.
  3. Bake for 32-34 minutes or until a toothpick or cake tester inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool completely on a wire rack.
  4. Frost with whipped topping immediately before serving.

Recipe from Cake Mix Magic by Favorite Brand Name Recipes, Vol. 1, No. 8, May 26th, 2009

Comment on these yummies

