The Only Good Thing Produced During the Superbowl

I can’t say my weekend was fabulous. It ended terribly. If you know me, you know that I despise the NY Giants, and I have a love for the New England Patriots that I’ve allowed to blossom and flourish over the past few seasons. Needless to say, I was heartbroken over the outcome of Superbowl XLVI, but at least I was able to enjoy part of the evening-the snacking part. I made these Oreo balls to contribute to the party I was attending because I knew they were easy and delicious. I also managed to shape them like lil footballs so that helps add to their desirable qualities.

At least something delicious came from the Superbowl.

Oreo Balls

Stuff You’ll Need

Makes 30-40 cookies, depending on shape

  • 1 package of double stuf Oreos, any flavor (I used peanut butter because they’re delicious)
  • 8 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1 package of melting chocolates, usually found in the produce section
  • Toothpicks
  • Food processor
  • Parchment paper, cookie sheet

How to Do It

  1. Blend the Oreos in a food processor (or a blender with very fine blades if you don’t have access to a food processor) until they’re diminished to coarse crumbs.
  2. Add the cream cheese and blend again. Be sure to scrape down the sides as needed, and use a rubber spatula to incorporate all the crumbs into the cream cheese if necessary.
  3. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper, and begin breaking tablespoon-sized chunks from the mixture. Rolls these into your desired shape.
  4. Melt the chocolate according to package directions.
  5. Dip the bottom two-thirds of each cookie into the dipping chocolate using the a toothpick as a handle. Place the cookies in the refrigerator to solidify before serving.

Tip: The blended ingredients may be too soft to work with initially. Put them in the refrigerater between steps in order to keep them firm. They’ll be easier to work with, and they’ll hold the chocolate dip better.

Extra tip: To make them lil footballs, shape them into a ball, and just slightly squeeze the sides to get the angles. Use a small round tip and a pastry bag to decorate the top.

Lighten it Up! Did you know Oreos come gluten-free? You can make these sinful little delights gluten-free by just switching up the cookie.

Comments

  1. OH WOW. Thanks for sharing. This looks awesome and my grandkids favorite cookies are Oreos!! The chocolate you have in the picture… what is the brand name? It looks very familiar and I know I’ve seen it t one of the groceries I’ve shopped at.

    • Hi Renee, thanks for checking out my blog! The chocolate I used is the Dolci frutta microwavable dipping chocolate made by Saco foods. It’s usually in the produce aisle of grocery stores near the berries, and another brand called Baker’s makes some fabulous dipping chocolate as well.

Comment on these yummies

