Almond Macaroons

I’m often too busy during the weekdays to get time to bake anything fun. I usually settle for mousse or some other easy stovetop dessert during the week and save the fun stuff for the weekends (as if I have time then either). I came up with the idea of macaroons because I have a dairy-challenged friend who often has to stay away from my desserts. These fit into our French-themed book club meeting (more on that on the next Winesday post), and they were insanely easy. Not that all macaroons are quick and easy, but these fancy little almond ones are. They’re also gluten-free and dairy-free so now we can all enjoy them. Unless you’re allergic to almonds. Sorry.

Forgive me for the simplicity, but this is my first attempt at macaroons. After I made these and photographed them (amateur attempt!), I found macaroons on another blog that blow mine out of the water. Ordinarily, I may want to hide my head in shame and never want to try them again, but I’m a classy broad. And classy broads don’t do that. So I will try again and change them up just a bit. For now, check out the recipe for almond macaroons below that I adapted from the book Professional Baking by Wayne Gisslen.

Stuff You’ll Need

Makes two dozen macaroons

  • 8 Tbsp almond paste
  • 2 egg whites
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • Parchment paper
  • Small scoop or pastry bag with a small round tip

How to Do It

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Blend the almond paste with a little of the egg white to soften it initially, and then incorporate the granulated sugar and the rest of the egg whites into the bowl. Using your hands or an electric hand mixer, blend the ingredients together until fully mixed.
  3. Place the mixture in a pastry bag fitted with a small round tip, and pipe half-dollar-sized drops onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. If the mixture is too stiff to use the pastry bag, you can use a small ice cream scoop, or add a little extra egg white to soften it.
  4. Bake for 8-11 minutes (depending on the size of your drops) until the cookies begin to turn golden around the edges. Remove from the oven, and cool completely before removing them from the parchment.

Tip: Before lining your cookie sheet, use a pastry brush to paint a thin layer of water on the back of the parchment paper. Stick the wet side to the cookie sheet, and it will prevent your macaroons from sticking to the paper.

Comments

  1. YUM those were delicious… I am thinking about including them in my holiday cookie repetoire this year 🙂

  2. Those were so melt-in-your-mouth tasty. I read this post while drinking my coffee that has almond creamer… felt like I was eating them again!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Almond macaroons for my dairy-challenged friends and chocolate pots de creme for my gluten-challenged friends. […]

Comment on these yummies

